menumenu-button

Capital markets and banking

Capital markets and loan facilities belong to the most important sources of funding for corporations and are thereby essential for economic growth and wealth. In the aftermath of a global financial crisis with exorbitant dimensions banks were regulated significantly stricter. Additionally, the legislators tried to regain investor confidence by a stricter regulation of the financial industry. Basel III, MiFID II, PRIIP regulation and market abuse regulation are only a few keywords. As a result, comprehensive harmonization efforts can be identified that lead to difficult questions concerning the interpaction between European Union law and national law. The coming Capital Markets Union will once again lead to an increase in EU legislation.

Due to this vivid legislative activity the legal framework is in steady - partially fundamental - change. Overall, market participants in the field of capital markets and banking are confronted with a tremendous regulatory density fragmented in countless legal sources. Concurrently violations are sanctioned with huge penalties. In this challenging environment comprehensive and professional legal advice is crucial.

KEY AREAS

  • advising corporates and banks on capital market transactions such as IPOs, Re-IPOs and corporate bonds
  • advising listed companies, banks and insurance companies in the field of capital market compliance, thus in complying with the market abuse regulation, the Stock Exchange Act and regulations of the Financial Market Authority or with the related law applicable to stock corporations (stock option programs, purchases and sale of own shares, etc.) and corporate governance
  • advising banks, investment firms and insurance companies on the PRIIP regulation 
  • advising banks and investment firms on other supervisory issues, in particular on the sale of securities  
  • advising banks and corporates in loan origination and securitization issues
  • advising banks, investment firms and listed companies in litigious matters such as administrative prosecutions by the Financial Market Authority and civil proceedings against investors 
< back
expertise

menumenu-button

Kapitalmarkt- und Bankrecht

Kapitalmärkte und Kreditfazilitäten von Banken gehören zu den wichtigsten Finanzierungsquellen für Unternehmen und sind damit wesentlich für Wachstum und Wohlstand. In Folge einer Finanzkrise von astronomischem Ausmaß wurden Banken in den letzten Jahren deutlich umfangreicher reguliert. Zudem versuchten die Gesetzgeber über strengere Regulierung der Kapitalmärkte Anlegervertrauen zurückzugewinnen. Basel III, MiFID II, PRIIPs-Verordnung und Marktmissbrauchsverordnung sind hier nur einige Stichworte. Dabei sind umfassende Harmonisierungsbestrebungen zu erkennen, die auch zu diffizilen Fragen des Zusammenspiels von Unionsrecht und nationalem Recht führen. Die kommende Kapitalmarktunion wird hier noch einmal zu einem Schub an unionsrechtlichen Vorgaben führen.

Durch diese rege Aktivität kommt es laufend zu Änderungen der Rechtslage und der Aufsichtspraxis. Insgesamt sind Marktteilnehmer in den Bereichen Kapitalmarkt- und Bankrecht mit einer gewaltigen Regelungsdichte konfrontiert, die in unzähligen Rechtsquellen zersplittert ist. Gleichzeitig werden Verstöße mit drakonischen Strafen sanktioniert. In diesem herausfordernden Umfeld ist umfassende, professionelle Rechtsberatung unverzichtbar.

SCHWERPUNKTE

  • Beratung von Unternehmen und Banken bei klassischen Kapitalmarkttransaktionen wie Börsegängen, Kapitalerhöhungen und Unternehmensanleihen
  • Beratung von börsenotierten Unternehmen, Banken und Versicherungen beim Einhalten von Marktmissbrauchsverordnung, Börsegesetz und FMA-Verordnungen sowie zu angrenzendem Aktienrecht (Optionsprogramme, Erwerb und Veräußerung eigener Aktien etc) und Corporate Governance
  • Beratung von Banken, Wertpapierfirmen und Versicherungen zur PRIIP-Verordnung
  • Beratung von Banken und Wertpapierfirmen in sonstigen aufsichtsrechtlichen Fragen, insbesondere beim Wertpapiervertrieb
  • Beratung von Banken und Unternehmen bei Kreditverträgen und Kreditsicherheiten
  • Beratung von Banken, Wertpapierfirmen und börsenotierten Unternehmen in streitigen Angelegenheiten wie Verwaltungsstrafverfahren der FMA und Zivilprozessen gegen Anleger

FACT SHEET
< zurück
Kompetenz