menumenu-button

Capital markets/Finance

Capital markets and loan facilities belong to the most important sources of funding for corporations and are thereby essential for economic growth and wealth. In the aftermath of a global financial crisis with exorbitant dimensions banks were regulated significantly stricter. Additionally, the legislators tried to regain investor confidence by a stricter regulation of the financial industry. Basel III, MiFID II and the market abuse regulation are only a few keywords. At the same, an effort can be noticed to facilitate the access to capital markets for SMEs. In Austria, for instance, a new crowdfunding law was introduced, at European level the planned capital markets union will facilitate the prospectus regime. 

Due to this vivid legislative activity the legal framework is in steady - partially fundamental - change. Overall, market participants in the field of Capital markets/Finance are confronted with a tremendous regulatory density fragmented in countless legal sources. Concurrently violations are sanctioned with draconian penalties. In this challenging environment comprehensive and professional legal advice is crucial.

We support:

  • Corporates and banks in capital market transactions such as IPOs, Re-IPOs and corporate bonds
  • Issuers in the field of capital market compliance, thus in complying with the market abuse regulation, the Stock Exchange Act and regulations of the Financial Market Authority
  • Issuers in stock corporation law, e.g. by accompanying shareholders’ meetings, advising purchases and sales of own shares, setting up employee option programs and in corporate bodies’ liability issues
  • Issuers in corporate governance, like by external evaluations and in drafting the annual corporate governance report
  • Investors and corporates in the purchase/sale of companies and shareholdings, for instance in the field of private equity and venture capital
  • Young growth companies in crowdfinancing projects and in cooperations with large corporations
  • Banks and corporates in loan origination and securitization issues (e.g. pledges, assignments for securities)
  • In litigious matters such as administrative prosecutions by the Financial Market Authority and civil proceedings against investors

FACT SHEET
< back
expertise

menumenu-button

Capital Markets/Finance

Kapitalmärkte und Kreditfazilitäten von Banken gehören zu den wichtigsten Finanzierungsquellen für Unternehmen und sind damit wesentlich für Wachstum und Wohlstand. In Folge einer Finanzkrise von astronomischem Ausmaß wurden Banken in den letzten Jahren deutlich strenger reguliert. Zudem versuchten die Gesetzgeber über strengere Regulierung der Kapitalmärkte Anlegervertrauen zurückzugewinnen. MiFID II, PRIIPs-Verordnung und Marktmissbrauchsverordnung sind hier nur einige Stichworte. Gleichzeitig ist aber auch ein Bemühen erkennbar, vor allem KMU den Zugang zum Kapitalmarkt zu erleichtern, in Österreich etwa kürzlich durch das Crowdfunding-Gesetz, auf europäischer Ebene wird die geplante Kapitalmarktunion einige Erleichterungen bei Kapitalmarktprospekten bringen. 

Durch diese rege gesetzgeberische Aktivität kommt es laufend zu – teilweise fundamentalen – Änderungen der Rechtslage. Insgesamt sind Marktteilnehmer im Bereich Capital Markets/Finance mit einer gewaltigen Regelungsdichte konfrontiert, die in unzähligen Rechtsquellen zersplittert ist. Gleichzeitig werden Verstöße mit drakonischen Strafen sanktioniert. In diesem herausfordernden Umfeld ist umfassende, professionelle Rechtsberatung unverzichtbar.

Wir beraten:

  • Unternehmen und Banken bei klassischen Kapitalmarkttransaktionen wie Börsengängen, Kapitalerhöhungen und Unternehmensanleihen
  • Emittenten im Bereich Kapitalmarkt-Compliance, also beim Einhalten von Marktmissbrauchsverordnung, Börsegesetz und FMA-Verordnungen
  • Emittenten im Aktienrecht, etwa durch Begleiten von Hauptversammlungen, Beratung bei Erwerb und Veräußerung eigener Aktien, beim Aufsetzen von Mitarbeiteroptionsprogrammen und bei Fragen der Organhaftung
  • Emittenten bei Corporate Governance, etwa durch externe Evaluierungen und beim Erstellen des jährlichen Corporate Governance Berichts
  • Investoren und Unternehmer beim Erwerb/der Veräußerung von Unternehmen und Unternehmensbeteiligungen, etwa im Bereich Private Equity und Venture Capital
  • Junge Wachstumsunternehmen bei der Finanzierung über die Crowd und bei Kooperationen mit Großkonzernen
  • Banken und Unternehmen bei Kreditverträgen und Kreditsicherheiten (Pfandbestellungen, Sicherungsabtretungen etc)
  • In streitigen Angelegenheiten wie Verwaltungsstrafverfahren der FMA und Zivilprozessen gegen Anleger

FACT SHEET
< zurück
Kompetenz